Tissot Le Locle Review (T41.1.423.43)
Posted by

Tissot Le Locle Review (T41.1.423.43)

Overall Score3.5
  • Watch Type & Movement
  • Aesthetics & Build Quality
  • Functions & Complications
  • Value for Money
  • Overall Impression
  • Lacking any complications, save for the date feature, the Tissot Le Locle is a classic no-nonsense watch. Its Roman numeral hour markers and sculped hour and minute hands provide a small amount of flair to an otherwise subtle timepiece. At $625 it isn't the best value-play, but with an ETA 2824-2 movement and date functionality, coupled with Tissots quality and workmanship, you are getting a fine piece of kit in the Le Locle. The 3.5 score is reflective of the fact that it isn't the best value around, but if you like the Le Locle's look and are fine with the price, it will be a 4.5 on your wrist.

Don’t let our 3.5 score of the watch deter you.  The Le Locle is a watch for a certain type of person, and if you’re that person this watch will be a 4.5 when you wear it.

Tissot is a brand synonymous with precision Swiss engineering, timeless watches, and elegant designs.

Established in 1853, the timepieces Tissot would put on your wrist today showcase the knowledge and expertise that could only have been gained by over 160 years of watchmaking.

Retailing at $625, the Tissot Le Locle is a classic timepiece suitable for casual, semi-formal, or formal wear.  It’s a watch that’s as much at home on your wrist during class as it is during a power meeting at the office.  It’s monotone colouring and adherence to classical design standards mean that this watch will always be in style.

The look isn’t for everyone.  Some, including myself, may find the Le Locle to be somewhat boring.  Others appreciate the subtlety.  The beauty of this piece is that is can be incorporated so easily into your outfit as an accessory as opposed to the accessory.

Essential Details About the Tissot Le Locle (T41.1.423.43)

MSRP: $625
Case diameter: 39mm
Movement: Automatic, ETA 2824-2
Complications: Date
Crystal material: Sapphire
Power Reserve: 38 hours
Other: Exhibition caseback

Note that there is an alternate colour option (rose gold/black, model number T41.5.423.53; white/black, model number T41.1.423.33).

Watch Provided By Gem by Carati

gemlogo-400x246-cropped

Unboxing the Tissot Le Locle

Unboxing the Tissot Le Locle

Gem by Carati provided a brand new Tissot Le Locle for me to review.  I have had many dealings with Gem by Carati in the past and recommend them to anyone seeking a Gucci, Hamilton, or Tissot timepiece.  They also specialize in engagement and bridal jewelry

Gem by Carati is located in Calgary, AB, Canada.  Visit them online at www.gembycarati.com.

Thanks Gem!

Tissot Le Locle Aesthetics & Functionality

Showcasing the exhibition case.  Don't mind the QR sticker.

Showcasing the exhibition case. Don’t mind the QR sticker.

If you’re looking for a peacock watch the Tissot Le Locle isn’t for you.  When I envision who would be wearing this watch I immediately think of a James Bond stereotype: the cool, suave, well-dressed gentlemen in a charcoal-black suit and tie combination, diamond cufflinks, and some highly polished shoes.  The Le Locle fits right into that picture, if only for its subdued “I’ve got nothing to prove” styling.

Relying more on texture as opposed to colour or features, the Le Locle’s face would be almost flat were it not for some texturing on the inner-ring.  The stainless steel case contrasts nicely with the crocodile leather strap and matte-black face, accenting the chrome hands and markers.  It’s all quite elegant, almost giving this watch a high-society feel.

Of course, this could be taken as a good or a bad thing depending on how you look at it.  With a $625 price tag one could argue that this watch is on the high side of the spectrum given that you’re getting a fairly standard ETA movement (even if it is a reliable one) with a single complication (date display).  Others could just as easily argue that this watch looks quite upmarket, giving the impression that it costs quite a bit more than it actually does, and that the fact that you’re getting an ETA movement at all is a plus.

The strap is genuine leather with crocodile grain.  It has a nice feel to it and is quite plush against your wrist.  The Le Locle features a deployment clasp that is both quite attractive and should let you keep the leather strap looking great for a long time to come.  During my testing the clasp never came loose or undid itself- it always felt snug and secure.

The Le Locle is water resistant to 30 meters, though I don’t think this is the type of watch you wear when swimming.

Using the Tissot Le Locle is quite standard and will feel familiar to anyone who has ever had to set a date functionality on a watch.

  • Pull the crown to position 3 to set the time.
  • Pull the crown to position 2 to set the date.  Turning the crown toward 12 o’clock moves the date forward, whereas turning the crown toward 6 o’clock turns the date backwards.

Movement Accuracy & Reliability

The Tissot Le Locle features the Swiss-manufactured ETA 2824-2 movement.  This movement is extremely popular, powering millions of watches, and is well-respected in the industry for both its reliability as well as its accuracy.

The ETA 2824-2 is an automatic movement, featuring 25 jewels and a maximum daily variation of approximately 30 seconds (meaning the watch may gain or lose up to 30 seconds of time per day).  This variation seems high, but that’s the maximum.  In reality you’ll see between 7 and 12 seconds of variation per day.

The ETA 2824-2 can safely be considered reliable.

Tissot Le Locle (T41.1.423.43) Flaws

Notice the lack of detail visible in low-light settings.

Notice the lack of detail visible in low-light settings.

This Tissot doesn’t have too many glaring flaws, but where it does come up short is low/no light operation.  In low or no light settings the Le Locle is rendered completely useless, as it has no form of back-lighting or luminescence .  The chrome hands and markers, while certainly quite nice in regular light situations, do not provide any kind of reflection when the light starts to go out.

The look of the watch completely changes in low-light situations as well.  During normal lighting the texture on the face is quite obvious, even from a distance, and gives the Le Locle a bit of “pop”.  In low or no light situations it’s almost as if that texture completely disappears (see pic on left for example).

The deployment clasp, while quite secure, is also a bit of a bother from time to time.  Most of the time you won’t even notice that it’s there, but sometimes you will find it quite difficult to actually unclasp.  The first time I opened it I was worried that I had broken it- I quickly learned that it’s just an over-achieving clasp.

Otherwise, assuming you enjoy the styling of the Le Locle, I can’t find anything else worth griping about.

To Conclude My Tissot Le Locle Review

The model reviewed here (T41.1.423.43) is an excellent timepiece and is something that I would enjoy having in my collection.  It is an intrinsically simple watch: a face, some numerals, and a bit of texture, and that’s what I like about it.  It doesn’t try to be anything that it isn’t, and it pays homage to the Tissot brand in both manufacturing quality and design.

The automatic ETA 2824-2 movement is one of the most popular automatic movements around.  It’s a reliable movement that should provide you years of accurate timekeeping (Tissot recommends servicing every 36 months).

Once you’ve taken some time to break the leather in (it is quite stiff when brand new) you’ll find the Le Locle to be fairly lightweight for an automatic, making it comfortable to wear for long periods at a time.

The Le Locle may not be the watch that everyone notices, but if you’re interested in buying the Le Locle in the first place it’s because you could care less whether other people notice it or not.

However, the big point that I get hung up on is value.  Is there a lot of value built into this watch?  For $625 you get a watch that, for all intents and purposes, is actually pretty standard fare.  It isn’t an over-achiever in any respects, nor is it coming up short.  It’s a good timepiece that will look great on your wrist, but I can’t help but wonder if there are options out there that provide more value in a similar package.

If $625 doesn’t scare you for a watch sporting an ETA movement, date functionality, and a 160 year history behind it, then you will find the Le Locle a great addition to your wardrobe.  However, if you want maximum bang for your buck you may want to keep on moving.  As good as the Le Locle is it isn’t anything extraordinary.

Buy: $625, Gem by Carati/Amazon.

More Pictures of the Tissot Le Locle (T41.1.423.43)

0 5 22623 26 February, 2013 Automatic, Between $250 and $750, Watch Reviews February 26, 2013

About the author

If it ticks or tocks Cameron probably wants to have it on his wrist. Founder of the website, and lover of things that keep good time, Cameron likely wrote this article three or four times before it was published (and there's probably still a grammatical error in there somewhere... d'oh!)

View all articles by Cameron Martel

5 comments

  1. Sopota

    This watch can be found easily for 400$, here in Europe I can buy it from a boutique for 330€.
    Can you update your value score?

    By the way, awesome blog! Finally I found something I can follow and be useful for my watch shopping.

    Reply

    1. Post author
      Cameron Martel

      One of the things I try to do is rate the value of a watch based on its advertised MSRP, as watches often go on sale or can be found discounted through non-standard means. At $400 this would be a very good buy :)

      I am also working on changing the format of the reviews to match my newest iteration (compare this review to this one (as an example): http://www.watchesyoucanafford.com/hamilton-jazzmaster-h32505151-daydate-automatic-review/).

      I’m glad you enjoy the site! :)

      Reply
  2. Li

    I bought Tissot Le Locle January 2013 and now it’s been repaired TWICED! Only been using 20 months. First time it’s running faster 2-3hours per day then few months later 6-7 hours running under. Useless paying lots of money on this Crap wrist watch> Better trust other brand like citizen and seiko

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Like Us on Facebook

New to watches?

Are you new to the world of watches? Check out some great information that will get you up to speed!

Read "Watch 101"